When Does Domestic Abuse Become a Felony in Wisconsin?

Categories: criminal defense

criminal defense of domestic abuse

Experienced Domestic Violence Attorney Defending Felony Charges

Domestic abuse crimes are heavily prosecuted in Wisconsin, with government attorneys often seeking maximum punishment for individuals accused of these violent and sex-related offenses. While some domestic abuse crimes are misdemeanors under Wisconsin law, many are felonies that carry the potential for enormous financial penalties and years – or decades – behind bars.

Felony Domestic Abuse Crimes in Wisconsin

In Wisconsin, domestic abuse is not a stand-alone offense, but rather a label applied to certain violent and sex-related offenses committed against the defendant’s spouse or former spouse, the parent of a shared child, or anyone who has at some point shared the defendant’s home. Many of these offenses are felonies:

  • Substantial battery is a Class I felony.
  • Aggravated battery is either a Class H or Class E felony.
  • First degree sexual assault is a Class B felony.
  • Second degree sexual assault is a Class C felony.
  • Third degree sexual assault is a Class G felony.

Other domestic abuse crimes, including battery and disorderly conduct, are misdemeanors. While the penalties for misdemeanor offenses are less severe than those for felonies, a misdemeanor conviction can still have substantial consequences, including loss of your right to own a gun.

Criminal Penalties for Domestic Abuse Felonies in Wisconsin

If you are facing felony domestic abuse charges in Wisconsin, you need to take your situation extremely seriously. The relevant felony penalties in Wisconsin are:

  • Class B felony – Up to 60 years’ imprisonment
  • Class C felony – Up to 40 years’ imprisonment and fines of $100,000
  • Class E felony – Up to 15 years’ imprisonment and fines of $50,000
  • Class G felony – Up to 10 years’ imprisonment and fines of $25,000
  • Class H felony – Up to 6 years’ imprisonment and fines of $10,000
  • Class I felony – Up to 3.5 years’ imprisonment and fines of $10,000

Keep in mind, these penalties are in addition to the civil remedies (such as imposition of a restraining order) and other consequences that can flow even from allegations of a felony domestic abuse offense.

Defenses to Domestic Felony Abuse Charges

Domestic abuse cases are unique; with everything on the line in a felony case, it is important to build as strong and complete of a defense strategy as possible. While the perceived victims in domestic abuse cases are often given the benefit of the doubt, those accused of abuse have important Constitutional rights, and they are entitled to tell their side of the story in court.

Disclaimer: This Article Is Not Legal Advice.

Never rely on an article for legal advice as the law frequently changes, information may not be accurate, there may be exceptions to a rule, and reliance may be detrimental. Always consult one of our experienced attorneys for competent, current, and accurate legal advice.

Speak with a Criminal Defense Lawyer in Wausau, WI

If you have been arrested on domestic abuse charges in Wausau, the criminal defense attorneys at Crooks, Low & Connell, S.C. can help you stand up for your rights and fight to protect your future. To discuss your case in confidence, call our offices at (715) 842-2291 or request a consultation online now.